Program Details

At Home in the World: The Four Dignities

with Richard John
November 16 / 8:30 AM - November 17 / 6:00 PM

The path of the Four Dignities - Tiger, Lion, Garuda, Dragon - is a profound archetypal description of the human journey of awakening. Introduced to Western students by Chögyam Trungpa Rinpoche but rooted in the ancient shaman tradition of Bön and the Buddhist lineages of Tibet, it is universal, accessible, and highly relevant to our contemporary life and culture. The sequence of the Four Dignities applies to everything: One’s spiritual journey over a lifetime, the trajectory of a creative project, skills for resolving conflicts, the wisdom of arranging our household.

Senior students who have been introduced to these themes over the years are finding that we have only scratched the surface: The further we go with the advanced teachings and practices of Shambhala, the more we discover the depth and pervasiveness of these energies.

For new students who have begun a meditation practice, the Four Dignities provide a completely accessible framework that can be applied to all areas of one’s life.

Prerequisites: Meditation instruction at a Shambhala Center. Meditation instruction is available at DSMC on Sunday mornings at 9:00 am and Thursday evenings at 7:00 pm. Or contact Lyle Larson,, by November 8th.

Go to Davis's website