Program Details

The Three Jewels: Buddha, Dharma and Sangha

with David Rook
November 5 / 6:00 PM - November 19 / 8:00 PM

In formally becoming Buddhists we take refuge in the Three Jewels: the Buddha, the Dharma and the Sangha. We take refuge in the Buddha as teacher, our example of an awakened being. We take refuge in the Dharma—the truth that the Buddha expounded. This includes his literal words as well as the inner truth to which the words are pointing. The third jewel is the Sangha, a community of individuals who come together to practice, who know what to accept and what to reject in order to go forward on the path. We come together to cultivate the qualities that moves us toward enlightenment. We reject the qualities that take us in another direction.

Everyone is welcome to attend this three week course which will include meditation instruction, contemplation, lectures and discussion. The course is especially recommended for those planning to take refuge with Acharya Spiegel in December.

Go to Albany's website