Program Details

Progressive Stages of Emptiness Members Class

with Mark Seibold & Jonathan Michaels
February 19 / 6:30 PM - March 26 / 8:00 PM

The central, distinctive and most challenging teaching of the buddhadharma is the absence of a self, egolessness. As we travel the buddhist path of practice and study, our understanding and experience of egolessness gradually evolves and deepens. Over the millennia buddhist practitioners have codified this natural progression into a system of graduated views known as the four tenet systems (Skrt. siddhanta) that describe the discoveries we make and act as a general road map for the path. Using Khenpo Tsultrim Gyamtso Rinpoche's Progressive Stages of Meditation on Emptiness as our guide we will cultivate and sharpen our prajna by studying the views set forth in the four tenet systems of Vaibhashika, Sautrantika, Cittamatra and Madhyamaka through a series of contemplative exercises.

Participation in this class is limited to PVSC members who have completed Level V Shambhala Training, or permission of instructors.

Required textProgressive Stages of Meditation on Emptiness by Khenpo Tsultrim Gyamtso Rinpoche and Shenpen Hookam. You can purchse the book here:


Go to Pioneer Valley's website